On the 16th July 2015 at The Criterion Theatre, Piccadilly Circus, 500 primary school children joined us to watch their Silent Films on the Big Screen!

Over the course of the afternoon, we watched 15 incredibly creative silent short films and held our nail biting awards ceremony. A full list of winners can be found below.

The atmosphere in the theatre was electric, with every film beginning with an uproarious cheer and finishing with a thunderous round of applause.

Festival 2015 pupils outside

Festival 2015 cheer

 Screen Shot 2016-02-24 at 13.39.19

The Silent Film Festival was once again presented by our Workshop Director John McCraw, with guest speaker Neil Carter

Festival 2015 john

Teacher of the Year 2015 Winner

Festival 2015 kate

Kate Murray-Jones wins The Annie Williams Award, an acknowledgement of a teachers outstanding contribution to the filmmaking process.


“The whole project is children driven, it’s their ideas, their storylines, their props and their creation.  The children benefit greatly from doing this, from speaking and listening to working collaboratively, this is an opportunity for them to have an outlet to be creative“.

Kate Murray-Jones, St Michaels Primary School

The Winners in Full!

Film of 2015  The Wicked Water Thief Strikes Again, St Paul’s and All Hallows’ St Martha Class

Best Actor  Emanuel Osborne as Mr Nontechy, Carlton Primary

Best Actress  Anishar Ali as Cleopatra, Edith Neville Primary

Annie Williams Teacher Award   Kate Murray Jones, St Michael’s CE Primary School

Best Workshop Day   The Pyramid Factor, Risley Avenue

Best Filming Day   Me, Robot, Holy Trinity & St Silas

Best Costume   Games and Thrones, Old Ford

Best Set and Props The Voyages of the Space ChipSt Mary Magdalene

Comedic Moment  The Egyptian SituationSt Michael’s CE Primary School

Dramatic moment   Cleopatra and the Class, Edith Neville

Film for a Change The Wicked Water Thief Strikes Again, St Paul’s and All Hallows’ St Martha class

criterion 1